## Euroregion "Niemen"

Euroregions are transborder areas in frames of which there is guided cooperation between units representing regions of two or more countries (self government territory units). Each of them is appointed and functions under the internal law of a particular country. The aim of euroregions is development of economics cooperation development, infrastructure extension, environmental protection as well as tourism and culture / educational activity.

Sixteen euroregions were established within Polish borders. In the area of the Podlaskie Voivodeship there are two of them:

The Niemen Euroregion and The Puszcza Biaowieska Euroregion.

## The Niemen Euroregion

The interborder union Niemen Euroregion was formed on 6 July 1997 on the power of a multilateral understanding concluded by representatives of: Suwalskie Voivodeship (Poland), Alytus and Mariampol regions (Lithuania) and Grodzieńskie Voivodeship (Belarussia). A Euroregion was established with the purpose of intensifying social, economic and political contacts between these areas which are connected by a common geografical, histiorical and cultural inheritance.

At present The Niemen Euroregion consists of:

-Polish district: Podlaskie Viovodeship (excludning certain parts of the former Łomżyńskie Voivodeship), part of the

Warmińsko – Mazurskie Voivodeship (communities composing the former Suwalskie Viovodeship);

- -Lithuanian district: Alytus, Mariampol and Vilno regions;
- -Belarussian disrtict: Grodzieńskie Voivodeship:
- -Russian district: Czerniachowsk, Gusiew, Oziersk, Krasnoznamiensk and Niestierow (Kaliningrad District) regions.

The aim of an understanding within a given Euroregion is the development of border regions cooperation in the following spheres:

- -comprehensive economic development,
- -spatial management plan,
- -public infrastructure,
- -education, health protection, culture, sport and tourism,
- -flood and food disasters,
- -improving contacts between the inhabitains of border areas, institutional cooperation and also cooperation of economical units.

Euroregion Agency address:

Wesoła Street 22

16-400 Suwałki

Phone/Fax: 00 48 87 565 36 71/72

http://www.niemen.org.pl

e-mail: euroregion@niemen.org.pl



